Revisiting Childhood – Harry Potter 1

January 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Before I was good enough to read the Harry Potter series, I listened to it on tape. The very first book on tape, Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone, was given to me at christmas when I was seven. I can remember taking it with me on the plane to Costa Rica, not knowing what the story was about or how much it would change my life. The second I started listening to it, I was hooked. I can remember not sleeping on the plane in order to continue listening to the book. From that moment onward, I became a Harry Potter fanatic. I have listening and read all of the books many times but it has been a few times since I have listened to the first book again.

As I began listening to the narrator, Jim Dale’s, melodious voice, I immediately returned to the very first time on the plane when I began listening to this very same tape. Even after all of these years when I have supposedly been getting wiser, and after listening to this book many times, I still enjoy it. For me, Harry Potter is more than just an interesting book series. It is a source of comfort. When ever I start a tape or open a book, I am reminded of the times before when I have started the same book; what I was doing, thinking about, worried about. Since I listened to the series throughout my childhood, the various books can bring me back to different times in my life.

As I was re-listening to the first book just now I began to think about what it was about this story that made the series so successful. There is obviously something unique that makes the Harry Potter series the highest number of copies sold for a given book. I think that to both children and adults, the books offer an escape from reality. The world of Harry Potter, although mythical, is very believable. When I was younger and my eleventh birthday was approaching, I seriously thought that I was going to get an acceptance letter to Hogwarts. The world that J.K. Rowling creates is not only somewhat realistic but also enticing enough for readers to get lost in.

Also, It was interesting for me to read the books throughout my childhood because I ended up growing up with the characters. When it came to the social stuff in the books, I understood their actions. We were almost the same age (the characters were 3 years older) so i felt that I could relate to the social issues that they were dealing with. But even if you are not the characters age, I still think that even with all of the differences, they are easy to relate to. Probably another reason why so many readers enjoy the books.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Revisiting Childhood – Harry Potter 1 at Don't Hug the Grizzly Bear.

meta

